

Via Electronic Submission to: http://www.regulations.gov

August 16, 2019

The Honorable Seema Verma
Administrator
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
Department of Health and Human Services
Attention: CMS-4189-P
7500 Security Boulevard
Baltimore, MD 21244-1850

Re: CMS-4189-P: Medicare Program; Secure Electronic Prior Authorization for Medicare Part D

Dear Administrator Verma:

On behalf of the membership of the Pharmacy Health Information Technology Collaborative (Collaborative), we appreciate the opportunity to submit comments on the proposed rule *CMS-4189-P: Medicare Program; Secure Electronic Prior Authorization for Medicare Part D.* 

Pharmacists provide essential pharmacy and health-related services to patients. Additionally, pharmacists are users of health IT, and in particular, e-prescription and EHR systems. The Collaborative supports the use of these systems, which are important to pharmacists in working with other health care providers to provide needed medications and transmit patient information related to overall patient care, transitions of care, immunization (historical and administered), immunization registry reporting, medication lists, medication allergies, allergy reactions, patient problem lists, smoking status, reporting to public health agencies, clinical decision support services/knowledge artifacts, drug formulary checking, and electronic prescribing.

The Collaborative has been involved with the federal agencies, including the Office of the National Coordinator (ONC) and the Centers for Medicaid and Medicare Services (CMS) in developing the national health information technology (HIT) framework and standards since 2010.

## II. Proposed Adoption of the NCPD SCRIPT Standard Version 2017071 as the Part D ePA Transaction for Part D Program

## B. PA for Part D E-Prescribing

The Collaborative supports adopting the NCPDP SCRIPT version 201701 standard for the Part D ePA transaction of the Part D program. While the proposed rule requires adoption beginning January 1, 2021, we encourage CMS to ensure industry is provided enough time for adoption.

\*\*\*\*

The Pharmacy HIT Collaborative comprises the major national pharmacy associations, representing 250,000 members, including those in pharmacy education and accreditation. The Collaborative's membership is composed of the key national pharmacy associations involved in health information technology (HIT), the National Council of Prescription Drug Programs, and nine associate members encompassing e-prescribing, health information networks, transaction processing networks, pharmacy companies, system vendors, pharmaceutical manufacturers, and other organizations that support pharmacists' services.

As the leading authority in pharmacy health information technology, the Pharmacy HIT Collaborative's vision and mission are to ensure the U.S. health IT infrastructure better enables pharmacists to optimize person-center care. Supporting and advancing the use, usability, and interoperability of health IT by pharmacists for person-centered care, the Collaborative identifies and voices the health IT needs of pharmacists; promotes awareness of functionality and pharmacists' use of health IT; provides resources, guidance, and support for the adoption and implementation of standards driven health IT; and guides health IT standards development to address pharmacists' needs. For additional information, visit <a href="https://www.pharmacyhit.org">www.pharmacyhit.org</a>.

\*\*\*\*

On behalf of the Pharmacy HIT Collaborative, thank you again for the opportunity to comment on CMS-4189-P: Medicare Program; Secure Electronic Prior Authorization for Medicare Part D.

For more information, contact Shelly Spiro, executive director, Pharmacy HIT Collaborative, at shelly@pharmacyhit.org.

Respectfully submitted,

Shelly Spire

Shelly Spiro, RPh, FASCP

Executive Director, Pharmacy HIT Collaborative

shelly@pharmacyhit.org

Susan A. Cantrell, RPh, CAE Chief Executive Officer Academy of Managed Care Pharmacy scantrell@amcp.org

Peter H. Vlasses, PharmD, DSc (Hon), FCCP Executive Director Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE) pvlasses@acpe-accredit.org

Lynette R. Bradley-Baker, Ph.D., CAE, R.Ph. Senior Vice President of Public Affairs and Engagement American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy Ibbaker@aacp.org

Thomas E. Menighan, BS Pharm, MBA, ScD (Hon), FAPhA
Executive Vice President and CEO
American Pharmacists Association (APhA)
tmenighan@aphanet.org

Arnold E. Clayman, PD, FASCP Vice President of Pharmacy Practice & Government Affairs American Society of Consultant Pharmacists aclayman@ascp.com

Amey C. Hugg, B.S.Pharm., CPHIMS, FKSHP Director, Section of Pharmacy Informatics and Technology Member Relations Office American Society of Health-System Pharmacists ahugg@ashp.org

Brad Tice, PharmD, MBA, FAPhA
Senior Vice President Pharmacy Practice
Aspen RxHealth
bradt@aspenrxhealth.com

Jitin Asnaani Executive Director CommonWell Health Alliance jitin@commonwellalliance.org

Samm Anderegg, Pharm.D., MS, BCPS Chief Executive Officer DocStation samm@docstation.com

Michael M. Bourisaw
Executive Director
Hematology/Oncology Pharmacy
Association
mbourisaw@hoparx.org

Rebecca Snead
Executive Vice President and CEO
National Alliance of State Pharmacy
Associations
rsnead@naspa.us

Ronna B. Hauser, PharmD
Vice President, Pharmacy Policy &
Regulatory Affairs
National Community Pharmacists
Association (NCPA)
ronna.hauser@ncpanet.org

Stephen Mullenix. RPh
Senior Vice President, Communications &
Industry Relations
National Council for Prescription Drug
Programs (NCPDP)
smullenix@ncpdp.org

Rebecca Chater, RPh, MPH, FAPhA Director, Clinical Health Strategy Omnicell, Inc. rebecca.chater@omnicell.com

Lisa Hines, PharmD
Vice President, Performance Measurement
& Operations
Pharmacy Quality Alliance (PQA)
LHines@pgaalliance.org

Parmjit Agarwal, PharmD, MBA Director, Pharmacy Development Pfizer

Jeff Newell
Chief Executive Officer
Pharmacy Quality Solutions, Inc.
<a href="mailto:jnewell@pharmacyquality.com">jnewell@pharmacyquality.com</a>

Parmjit.Agarwal@pfizer.com

Michelle M. Wong, PharmD Chief Executive Officer Pharmetika mwong@pharmetika.com

Josh Howland, PharmD. MBA
VP Clinical Strategy
PioneerRx
Josh.Howland@PioneerRx.com

Mindy Smith, BSPharm, RPh Vice President Pharmacy Practice Innovation PrescribeWellness msmith@prescribewellness.com

Ed Vess, RPh Director Pharmacy Professional Affairs Smith Technologies ed.vess@smithtech.com

Steve Gilbert, R.Ph., MBA
Vice-President, Performance Improvement
Tabula Rasa HealthCare
sgilbert@trhc.com

Michael Morgan Chief Executive Officer Updox mmorgan@updox.com