

Via Electronic Submission to: www.regulations.gov

December 31, 2019

Administrator Seema Verma
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
Department Of Health and Human Services
Attention: CMS-1720-P
P.O. Box 8013
Baltimore, MD 21244-1850

Re: CMS-1720--P Medicare Program; Modernizing and Clarifying the Physician Self-Referral

Dear Administrator Verma:

On behalf of the membership of the Pharmacy Health Information Technology Collaborative (Collaborative), we are pleased to submit comments regarding the *Medicare Program; Modernizing and Clarifying the Physician Self-Referral*.

The Collaborative has been involved with the federal agencies, including the Office of the National Coordinator (ONC), developing the national health information technology (HIT) framework since 2010.

Pharmacists provide essential patient-centered care and services and are users of health IT. The Collaborative supports the use of these systems, which are important to pharmacists in working with other health care providers to provide needed medications and transmit patient information related to overall patient care, transitions of care, immunization (historical and administered), immunization registry reporting, medication lists, medication allergies, allergy reactions, patient problem lists, smoking status, reporting to public health agencies, clinical decision support services/knowledge artifacts, drug formulary checking, and electronic prescribing.

The following are our comments regarding the *Medicare Program; Modernizing and Clarifying the Physician Self-Referral.* 

- 11. Electronic Health Records Items and Services (§411.357(w))
  - a. Interoperability
  - (1) The "Deeming Provision" (pages 227-28)

The Collaborative supports updating the definition of interoperable to require that donated software provided is to be certified and current under the Office of the National Coordinator's (ONC) certification program on the date the software is donated.

## (2) Information Blocking and Data Lock-in (§411.357(w)(3)) (page 229-30)

The Collaborative supports the proposed modifications that recognize the updates to the 2013 EHR final rule and §411.357(w)(3) that prohibits the software donor (or anyone on the donor's behalf) from engaging in a practice constituting information blocking, as defined in section 3022 of the Public Health Safety Act.

## b. Cybersecurity (pages 231-32)

The Collaborative supports modifying the current EHR exception to include software that protects electronic health records, included services related to cybersecurity.

## d. Definitions (pages 234-37)

The Collaborative supports modifying the definitions of interoperability and electronic health record, as suggested by the OIG and as based on ONC's proposed definition of electronic health information and the statutory definitions in the Cures Act.

## \*\*\*\*

The Pharmacy HIT Collaborative comprises the major national pharmacy associations, representing 250,000 members, including those in pharmacy education and accreditation. The Collaborative's membership is composed of the key national pharmacy associations involved in health information technology (HIT), the National Council of Prescription Drug Programs, and 17 associate members encompassing e-prescribing, health information networks, transaction processing networks, pharmacy companies, system vendors, pharmaceutical manufacturers, and other organizations that support pharmacists' services.

As the leading authority in pharmacy health information technology, the Pharmacy HIT Collaborative's vision and mission are to ensure the U.S. health IT infrastructure better enables pharmacists to optimize person-center care. Supporting and advancing the use, usability, and interoperability of health IT by pharmacists for person-centered care, the Collaborative identifies and voices the health IT needs of pharmacists; promotes awareness of functionality and pharmacists' use of health IT; provides resources, guidance, and support for the adoption and implementation of standards driven health IT; and guides health IT standards development to address pharmacists' needs. For additional information, visit <a href="https://www.pharmacyhit.org">www.pharmacyhit.org</a>.

\*\*\*\*

On behalf of the Pharmacy HIT Collaborative, thank you again for the opportunity to comment on the *Medicare Program; Modernizing and Clarifying the Physician Self-Referral*.

For more information, contact Shelly Spiro, executive director, Pharmacy HIT Collaborative, at shelly@pharmacyhit.org.

Respectfully submitted,

Shelly Spire

Shelly Spiro, RPh, FASCP

Executive Director, Pharmacy HIT Collaborative shelly@pharmacyhit.org

Susan A. Cantrell, RPh, CAE Chief Executive Officer Academy of Managed Care Pharmacy scantrell@amcp.org

Janet P. Engle, PharmD, Ph.D. (Hon), FAPhA, FCCP, FNAP
Executive Director
Accreditation Council for Pharmacy
Education (ACPE)
jengle@acpe-accredit.org

Lynette R. Bradley-Baker, Ph.D., CAE, R.Ph. Senior Vice President of Public Affairs and Engagement American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy Ibbaker@aacp.org

Thomas E. Menighan, BS Pharm, MBA, ScD (Hon), FAPhA
Executive Vice President and CEO
American Pharmacists Association (APhA)
tmenighan@aphanet.org

Arnold E. Clayman, PD, FASCP
Vice President of Pharmacy Practice &
Government Affairs
American Society of Consultant Pharmacists
aclayman@ascp.com

Amey C. Hugg, B.S.Pharm., CPHIMS, FKSHP Director, Section of Pharmacy Informatics and Technology Member Relations Office American Society of Health-System Pharmacists <a href="mailto:ahugg@ashp.org">ahugg@ashp.org</a>

Brad Tice, PharmD, MBA, FAPhA
Senior Vice President Pharmacy Practice
Aspen RxHealth
<a href="mailto:bradt@aspenrxhealth.com">bradt@aspenrxhealth.com</a>

Peinie P. Young, Pharm.D, BCACP Director, Technical Marketing FUSE by Cardinal Health, Commercial Technologies peinie.young@cardinalhealth.com Samm Anderegg, Pharm.D., MS, BCPS Chief Executive Officer DocStation samm@docstation.com

Michael M. Bourisaw
Executive Director
Hematology/Oncology Pharmacy
Association
mbourisaw@hoparx.org

Rebecca Snead Executive Vice President and CEO National Alliance of State Pharmacy Associations rsnead@naspa.us

Ronna B. Hauser, PharmD Vice President, Pharmacy Policy & Government Affairs Operations National Community Pharmacists Association (NCPA) ronna.hauser@ncpanet.org

Stephen Mullenix, RPh
Senior Vice President, Communications &
Industry Relations
National Council for Prescription Drug
Programs (NCPDP)
smullenix@ncpdp.org

Rebecca Chater, RPh, MPH, FAPhA Director, Clinical Health Strategy Omnicell, Inc. rebecca.chater@omnicell.com

Lisa Hines, PharmD
Vice President, Performance Measurement
& Operations
Pharmacy Quality Alliance (PQA)
LHines@pgaalliance.org

Parmjit Agarwal, PharmD, MBA Director, Pharmacy Development Pfizer Parmjit.Agarwal@pfizer.com

Jeff Newell
Chief Executive Officer
Pharmacy Quality Solutions, Inc.
<a href="mailto:jnewell@pharmacyquality.com">jnewell@pharmacyquality.com</a>

Michelle M. Wong, PharmD Chief Executive Officer Pharmetika mwong@pharmetika.com

Josh Howland, PharmD. MBA VP Clinical Strategy PioneerRx Josh.Howland@PioneerRx.com

Mindy Smith, BSPharm, RPh Vice President Pharmacy Practice Innovation PrescribeWellness msmith@prescribewellness.com

Joe Ganley
Vice President Federal Government Affairs
McKesson
Joe.Ganley@McKesson.com

Ed Vess, RPh
Director Pharmacy Professional Affairs
Smith Technologies
ed.vess@smithtech.com

Ken Whittemore, Jr., RPh, MBA
Vice President, Professional
& Regulatory Affairs
Surescripts
ken.whittemore@surescripts.com

Steve Gilbert, R.Ph., MBA
Vice-President, Performance Improvement
Tabula Rasa HealthCare
<a href="mailto:sgilbert@trhc.com">sgilbert@trhc.com</a>

Michael Morgan Chief Executive Officer Updox mmorgan@updox.com